This Week’s Reader: Tod Goldberg

About:

Tod Goldberg is the author of ten books of fiction, including Living Dead Girl, a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, the popular Burn Notice series, and two collections of short stories, most recently Other Resort Cities. His journalism, criticism and essays have appeared in a number of publications, including the Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Las Vegas CityLife and Salon, and have won five Nevada Press Association awards for excellence. He directs the Low Residency MFA Program in Creative Writing & Writing for the Performing Arts at the University of California, Riverside.

Deal Breakers in Flash:

“It’s hard for me to pinpoint what a deal breaker might be for me as a reader. I think writers can make anything work. That said, I suspect if I read a story about a talking dog, I might walk in with a bias—I have dogs, I already imagine their own dialog, and, let me tell you, they are extremely insightful when it comes to understanding the complexities of the human condition. So if you’re writing a talking dog story, I encourage you to make said dog either really funny or a serial killer. Anywhere in between, that might be a rejection.”

One of Tod’s Stories:

“The Salt”

Here’s a Flash Story He Likes:

I think it counts as flash, anyway, it’s 1500 words:
“The Rememberer” by Aimee Bender.

Otherwise, this excellent story by Ben Loory:
“The Girl in the Storm”

 

This entry was posted in Weekly Guest Editors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

