This Week’s Reader: Isaac Boone Davis

About:  Isaac Boone Davis is a writer living and working throughout the U.S. His work has been published or is forthcomng at Writethis.com, The Smokelong Quarterly, Fiction 365, P.I.F., My Audio Universe and The Blue Lake Review. If he is not working or writing he can be found cheering loudly and violently for his Kentucky Wildcats.

Isaac says: Personally, I prefer literature where writers spell out their own names in their stories. Maybe in the first letter of every sentence like a cryptogram. I enjoy writers who like the stuff I wrote. If for example a submitter wanted to create a character who was obsessed with my writing or, I suppose, Josh Denslow’s writing, I would find that to be a bold creative choice.

Deal Breakers in Flash:

I don’t come from any kind of M.F.A background. I pick up heavy objects for a living. Consequently, I am not beholden to the “rules of literature.” I kind of hate the idea they exist. I.E. Don’t write in the second person; don’t have a character whose mom dies of cancer; don’t have a character who is a writer; don’t use statistics in your stories; don’t write about kids; don’t have characters who look out of windows and dream about a better life. The idea that these are “deal breakers” is ridiculous. And frankly, says more about our own self-importance as gatekeepers than anything else. There is one rule: make it work. Make a story that smacks my head like a New Orleans cop on New Year’s Eve. Write something that ties my heart and my intestines up like the shoelaces hanging from the telephone wires on North Limestone. If you can do that, you can look at all the windows you want.

Actually, don’t use statistics in your story.

Two of Isaac’s own stories:

I Don’t Know Who Used To Live Here But No One Lives Here Now
“gone song”

and a story he admires:

Everyone Continued to Sing” by Josh Denslow

This entry was posted in Weekly Guest Editors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

